Can They Get Smarter?

I am already thinking about how I want to start my classes in the fall.  I am thinking of using the attached lesson plan and showing the film Inside the Teenage Brain.  I ended my last semester with a conversation with a challenging student, whose work habits and grades had improved drastically.  When I asked him why, he explained then when he realized that he could do the work, then he could do it. How many other kids are stuck with the idea that they can’t “do it”?  How many other students can be led to a place where theycan prove to themselves that they can “do it” .  I don’t know the answers to this question but feel compelled to give it a try.  The topic blends perfectly with my anatomy and physiology curriculum.

Teach Malleable Intelligence

Leave a Reply

